League Histories

Sussex Cricket League (SCL) (AKA Sussex Premier Cricket League)

The SCL has run since 1971 when it was formed of 12 clubs. From inception to 1998 various clubs were added to its one and only Division. For the 1999 season the league became an ECB Premier League split into two Divisions of nine clubs each. A mirrored 2nd XI league was formed from inception. It is unclear when a 3rd XI Division was added although this was very limited to primarily West Sussex teams. 1st, 2nd and 3rd XI ladders were separate from each other, however promotion and relegation was mirrored between 1st and 2nd XI divisions until 2XXX. Major restructure happened in 2008 when the league formed a pyramid with the SICL and the ESCL which acted as 'feeder' leagues and the SCL expanded from 20 teams across two divisions to 40 teams across four divisions. The influx of clubs came primarily from the SICL but also the ESCL and included Lindfield, Burgess Hill, Pagham, Middleton, Goring, Bognor and Billingshurst amongst others. There was no relegation for the first two years. Initially the bottom two divisions were regional (Division 3 East/Division 3 West) until the 2014 season when the league changed to one ladder of countywide divisions – Divisions 1 to 4. All throughout this time 2nd XI teams continued to play in their own mirrored divisions. In 2017 the 2nd XI divisions were merged with the 1st XI divisions to form eight divisions where Division 1 to 4 remained countywide and Division 5 and Division 6 were split (Division 5 East/West and Division 6 East/West). The league effectively now comprised 81 teams (81 not 80 because Guernsey Sarnians played in Division 2). This structure lasted for just one season. In 2018 the entire pyramid beneath the SCL was incorporated into the league making a total of 35 divisions and regional splits were increased so that only Divisions 1 and 2 were countywide, Divisions 3 and 4 were both split into East and West and Divisions 5 to 12 were split East, West and Central.

Sussex Invitation Cricket League (SICL)

The SICL ran from 1979 through to 2008 before merging with the WSL to form the WSICL in 2009. From inception through to 1994 the league ran one Division with all clubs also entering a 2nd XI division. A very small division with 3rd XIs existed from 1982 to 1985 but at the 1985 AGM it was agreed to no longer pursue 3rd XI fixtures. Initially 10 clubs, membership was at 17 until 1995 when 12 clubs were added to make 29 and a Division 2 was created for both 1st and 2nd XI teams. This rose to 34 before 2002 when the league split again to form four divisions of nine clubs in each division (now 36 clubs strong). Also in 2002 2nd XIs were no longer tethered to their 1st XIs position in the league and played for promotion and relegation separately. This is how it remained until 2008 when 15 clubs left the league to join the expanded SCL. The remaining 21 clubs were joined by West Chiltington & Thakeham and a new structure of two divisions of 11 was decided upon with teams playing six teams twice and therefore 16 fixtures. The following season, under pressure from the SCB the league merged with the WSL to form the WSICL.

West Sussex Invitation Cricket League (WSICL)

The WSICL ran from 2009 through to 2017 when it was disbanded and all clubs entered into the SCL in 2018.

West Sussex League (WSL) (AKA Sussex Championship League)

The WSL started life as the Sussex Championship League in 1975 and remained as such until 1997 when it merged with the Print Machine Village League and became known as the WSL. In 1998 the league absorbed the Central Sussex League (formerly known as the Brighton Cricket League). It remained the WSL until 2009 when it merged with the SICL to form the WSICL.

Central Sussex League (AKA Brighton Cricket League)

The CSL first season, as the Brighton Cricket League, was in 1978. It changed its name to the Central Sussex League in XXXX and was absorbed by the WSL in 1998.

East Sussex Cricket League (ESCL)

The ESCL ran from 1972 through to 2017 when it was disbanded and all clubs entered into the SCL in 2018.

Mid-Sussex Cricket League (MSCL)

The MSCL ran from 1989 through to 2017 when it was disbanded and all clubs entered into the SCL in 2018.

Other leagues:

Guardian Invitation Cricket League/Worthing Cricket League

Arun Valley Cricket League

Cuckmere Valley Cricket League (founded 1906)

Useful sources:

Alan Perkins and Colin Tennant formed the WSL in 1997

John Baldwin Three Bridges Sec - died (all info passed to new TBCC Sec).

Jon Filby -